Monday, 13 April 2015

Governor Ajimobi breaks second term jinx in Oyo

Governor Ajimobi
OYO State Governor Abiola Ajimobi yesterday broke the second term jinx, winning the governorship election.After he was declared the winner at the state Independent National Electoral Commission’s (INEC’s) headquartres, the ancient capital city, Ibadan, erupted in jubilation as hundreds of men and women, young and old took to the streets in honour of the All Progressive Congress (APC) candidate.

At about 5.15pm shortly after the INEC made the announcement of the results, many party men, who kept vigil at the commission’s state secretariat at Agodi since Saturday, embarked on victory dance in groups, waving brooms.

Many of the residents also joined the train, which marched through Mokola to the Oluyole residence of Ajimobi on foot.

Outside the city, residents of Saki, Iseyin, Oyo, Okeho, Iwo-Ate and Ibarapa also rejoiced as the news broke that Ajimobi had been officially announced winner of the keenly contested poll.

The governor polled 327,310 to beat his closest challenger, Rashidi Ladoja of Accord, who scored 254,520. Labour Party (LP) candidate, Adebayo Alao-Akala, came third with 184,111 votes.

Ajimobi won in 20 local governments. Ladoja got seven and Alao-Akala won in six.

They were followed by the candidates of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Teslim Folarin, who scored 79,019, Seyi Makinde of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) polled 54,740, to come fifth.

Of the 32 House of Assembly seats, the APC won 18, Accord won eight. LP won six seats.

No comments:

Post a Comment